Conversations with myself

*The alarm clock goes off at 6:30 a.m..*

– Get up, you put the alarm clock in the living room for a reason!
◦ But I feel like I need an hour of sleep extra…
– Get up! Now!
◦ Okay, okay…

*Mourning while getting up, feeding the cat, washing up and feeling like sitting down for a bit.*

– Now, put on your timer and do your stretches and exercises!
◦ Can’t I just sit here for a bit, reading this interesting article about <insert any non-interesting subject here>.
– Nope. Are you seriously going to continue this the entire day?
◦ I shouldn’t, should I? I should get myself together and do what I really want to do instead of behaving like I haven’t set any goals for myself?
– That’s what I am talking about. You know why you set that alarm clock. You know you want to go <insert sports activity here>. You know what that goal means to you! You know you will have to work hard to achieve that goal!

*After doing the exercises and stretches that belong to my morning routine, and after doing that first sports activity*

◦ I want to go to the gym to do some weights!
– You shouldn’t! You need to take it easy, give your body some rest. You can always go for a run / walk / ride in the evening!
◦ But I feel incredibly fit and I am already warmed up so I can just do some weights for about 30-40 minutes and then go home…
– Seriously? Go home!

*Going to the gym doing 45 – 90 minutes of weight lifting, feeling incredibly satisfied afterwards.*

◦ Now, let’s do some cardio and go home.
– NO! You could go to the sauna though…
◦ Now.. that’s not such a bad idea.

Leave a Reply

