The lunch box 2.0

As some of you might know, I really like the philosophy of the Paleo diet. I do not see a diet as something temporarily. I see my diet as permanent food choices. I choose to combine simple ingredients with mostly simple recipes, as my main focus throughout the week is on my day job, sports, music and the e-zine I work for. I am not strict when it comes to eating Paleo: I need a pizza now and then!

Lately I get a lot of questions about what I eat, and also about the recipes I use, so I decided to put on one of my recipes again. I get the most questions about my lunch. This recipe is quite easy and therefore I really like to make it when I am in a little bit of a hurry. If I miss out on any information here, feel free to let me know, so I can alter it a bit.260820132800

For 1 person:

  • 1 Zucchini
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 garlic clove
  • Tomato
  • Some oil

Clean the garlic and slice it. Put a frying pan on a small fire and put some oil in it (about 1 teaspoon). Add the slices of garlic. Wash the Zucchini and cut of the ‘head and tail’. Slice the zucchini (don’t peel it!). Put the slices in the pan. Stir them a little bit so the garlic and oil mixes with the slices of zucchini. Add the eggs. I myself use the eggs as they are, but when you like it, you can whisk them with some milk (or almond milk) before adding them. Do not stir after adding.

260820132798
Now, the most difficult part is done. Make sure the fire is not too hot, you don’t want burned zucchini with eggs. While you wait for the dish to slowly fry, you can wash the tomato and dice it up. When the egg is almost done, you can flip parts of the dish in the pan so the last slimy bits get some heat as well, but you can also just leave it as it is, depending on your personal taste. Take the pan off of the fire and let the dish cool down while you drink your coffee, take a shower or pack your bags.

260820132802

Before you leave for work, or school, or wherever you are going, put the egg-zucchini mix in a take-away container or sealed lunchbox. Put the tomato dices on top of the dish and you’re ready to go. For an extra bit of taste you can add some sweat pepper or fresh oregano if you happen to grow that in your garden. When you need a bit of extra bite, you can add some crushed almonds or some seeds.

Take some bananas and maybe a peach and you’ll survive the day.
There you have it. Lunch. Enjoy!

260820132804

Leave a Reply

