Simple dinner

There are times that one needs a dinner that is easily to prepare and still tastes great. My life can be pretty hectic at times, as most of you probably already know. Last week I didn’t even have time for my Thursday post on this blog… One missed recipe… This week, therefore, a recipe that is easy to prepare, tasty, and, most important, healthy! (at least according to my diet, let’s not talk religion here;)).

Simple dinner

What I find important in a meal is that there is diversity. I can’t imagine to eat the same thing every single day. Alright, maybe for breakfast, but not for lunch and definitely not for dinner. Diversity is the key to keep on a healthy track for me. When my food gets boring, my habits start to switch to snacks and sugar overdoses.

The recipe, of course, can be easily altered. I find this recipe very convenient when I have a lot uncooked left-overs in my fridge, but I also make this recipe when I just got the groceries, because that’s when I have the most diversity in my fridge.

Ingredients

  • 1 large (red)onion
  • 2 carrots
  • 1 broccoli (about 150 grams)
  • 1 paprika
  • 10-14 mushrooms
  • 2-4 eggs
  • Some garlic
  • Olive oil
  • water

Tools

  • A bowl or deep plate
  • Pan
  • Frying pan
  • Knife

Preparation

  1. Put a large cup of olive oil in the bowl or deep plate. Add some minced garlic (I prefer about 4-6 cloves).
  2. Remove the stalks from the mushrooms. Put the caps in the oil with the upper part up.
  3. Heat up some water in a pan till it boils.
  4. Clean the carrot and cut it in thin strips. Clean the broccoli and cut it into pieces. Cut the Stalk into small pieces if you like.
  5. Put the carrot and the broccoli in the hot water, put the fire at medium so the water is no longer boiling. Cook the vegetables in about 10-15 minutes. If the broccoli turned pale, they probably have been in there too long. Vegetables need to be bright of color even after boiling, if you ask me.
  6. Remove the outer layer of the onion. Cut the onion into rings.
  7. Heat up the frying pan. Add the mushrooms (with oil) and just about half a minute later the onion rings. Fry them in about five minutes on a high fire. Make sure not to burn them :D. I always try to keep the mushrooms and onions separated because I think it looks nice on the plate.
  8. In the meantime clean the paprika (remove the seeds) and cut into thin strips.
  9. After frying the onions and mushrooms it is time to bake the eggs. You can use the same pan without changing the oil for a bit of garlic taste. I like the eggs for this dish sunny side up, but fry them any way you like.
  10. While frying the eggs. Put the vegetables in groups on the plate. The paprika in one corner, the broccoli in another, or mix them all together: however you like it. Last but not least, add the eggs.

To prepare this dinner, a lot of steps will follow up in a tight schedule to serve everything while it is still warm. Though most of the steps are rather easy, you can also just take your time preparing this dish. When it gets too hectic in the kitchen, remember that most of the ingredients of this dinner taste good (almost) cold too.

I am curious about your variations on this recipe and the vegetables you like to add.

One Comment to “Simple dinner”

  1. That looks really nice :) I think I would prefer to eat potatoes with it though, not mushrooms.. But that is just me, I do not like the texture of mushrooms :)

Leave a Reply

